Join one of our guided tours and contribute to preserve Art

Guided tours designed and led by Venice Guides  for a Sustainable Tourism are conceived to be an enriching experience as well as a way to connect to the extraordinary artistic and cultural treasures found in Venice.

Our events are part of of the project SOStain Venice which is designed to promote art and historical sites which are lesser known by visitors, and at the same involve guests in our campaign of safeguarding at-risk art works.

Partecipate to our events and make a direct and significant impact on our mission to protect the immense cultural and artistic heritage of the city. Part of the guided tour fee is in fact directed to the restoration of a specific work of art still in situ.

Our forthcoming events will be dedicated to the Scuola Grande dei Carmini, one of the five historical main confraternities of the Serenissima Republic which are still active today.

Venice belongs to us all. We are Venice, You are Venice!  Help us and #SOStain this amazing work of beauty!


Venetian confraternities, known as scuole, were part of an important and unique civic welfare system tracing its origins in Medieval times. These institutions were crucial means of social cohesion and consensus towards the State.

The Confraternity of Santa Maria del Carmelo was officially recognised by the Venetian government in 1597. In 1591 the order had already started their charitable activity and had the use of an altar  inside the Church of Santa Maria del Carmelo. In 1625  the members were able to acquire some land near the church and assigned the project to design their house to  Francesco Caustello, an architect that surely deserves deeper investigation by scholars. The construction of the building started in 1627 and continued for a long time. It was completed almost 50 years later by the most celebrated architect Baldassare Longhena who designed the Church of Santa Maria della Salute. In  1739 Giambattista Tiepolo adorned the ceiling of the Chapter Hall with his nine magnificent canvases and Abbondio Stazio framed them within his stunning stucco-works.  On April 27, 1767, the Council of Ten granted  the confraternity with the privilege of the title of Scuola Grande.

The centuries long history of the Venetian confraternities came to an end when the French conquered Venice in 1797 and implemented their policy of suppressions and closures of the old social and religious institutions of the Serenissima Republic. However, Carmini was able to preserve almost intact its patrimony by accepting and complying with all the new Napoleonic regulations .Today the Scuola dei Carmini is one of five confraternities which are still active and functioning.


Antonio Zanchi - Miracolo del  Fanciullo

325 x 275 oil on canvass, 1665

The painting depicts the story of a youth who fell in a deep pit where he remained trapped for eight days before being miraculously saved by the Virgin Mary. The painter Antonio Zanchi was born in Este in 1631 and settle down in Venice where he asserted himself as one of the leading exponents of the so-called tenebrosi group of painters, whose style is distinguished by strong contrasts of light and shade and an accentuation of dramatic effects. The restoration has been estimated 9000 Euros and will encourage scholars and critics to investigate further the painting.